20 Inspirational Design Quotes

Make clever simple and simple clever

I reach for my revolver – Daniel Burka

3 Quotes

20 Motivating Design Quotes for Graphic Designers – Words Visualized!

“Simplicity is the ultimate form of sophistication.”

The maestro, Leoanardo Da Vinci, illuminates the beauty of simplicity in art and graphic design through such brilliant words.  

This is the magnificence of inspirational quotes, providing us stimulation and motivation to achieve what others have accomplished. It supports our reasoning and gives us an encouragement to do what we believe in. As graphic designers, we thrive to seek inspiration and what better way is to learn from words of wisdom. Reading design quotes from prominent figures of the industry ignites the creativity of graphic designers and gives them the motivation they need.

But it gets even exciting to read when words transform into attractive visual graphics. After all “A picture is worth a thousand words”. So today I’ve amassed a collection of 20 beautifully visualized design quotes that will motivate graphic designers to spark new ideas and designs.

Good Design is all about making

Good artists copy, Great artists steal

Have no fear of perfection

The job of an artist

Designers are not meant to be understood

Creative Thinking – Davey Coleman

You don’t want to imitate?

Design must seduce

GIRLS really love Graphic Designers

Practice Safe Design:

Design is Intelligence made visible:

Logic is being Creative

Good Thing about Bad Taste

Math VS Design

The Best Forms of Art from a Broken Heart

The Difference between Art and Design

48 Responses to 20 Inspirational Design Quotes

  1. Designers must be super smart and sophisticated to have all these quotes dedicated to them. Just so darn clever and witty …

  2. I can’t tell you how much respect I have for designers — as a writer, I design with words. Graphic depictions are way beyond my skill set!

    So I love love LOVE these quotes. Especially the “I want to shoot them in the face” quote.

    Simply. Awesome.

  3. Currie Rose says:

    Love these! Thank you for sharing them!

  4. beckyyk says:

    definitely liked reading these. I also liked the designs of the quote cards. Thanks!

    Check out my quotes:
    http://beckyyk.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/quotes-to-live-by/

  5. These are great. I especially love that first one. Thanks for posting!

  6. Love this! GREAT post. Inspiring. I may just go create now! Thanks.
    http://www.denwrites.com

  7. CrystalSpins says:

    I love the piece that labels the negative space. I laughed out loud when I saw that…and someone walking past my desk looked at me like I was crazy. For a second I thought I might just show her what I was laughing at but then I realized she wouldn’t get it…she isn’t a designer.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  8. Penny Latham says:

    Very nice!! thank you for sharing.

  9. santasown says:

    Very impressed, not only by the quotes but by the way how some quotes are depicted. It’s mind boggling.. but I guess that was the whole point. Your post is a success. 🙂

  10. Pretty inspirational.

  11. yearinlatvia says:

    I love these quotes. Didn’t get quite the response from my flatmate on reading them out loud, though I shouldn’t have been surprised after hearing her view on art and design the other day. Thank you for making me smile 🙂

  12. Miho says:

    Wow! These are really cool! Now you totally inspired me to write these and post them on the girl’s bathroom doors! 😀 Thanks!

  13. As a journalist, I am always looking for news ways to tell a story. So this post was very relevant to me.

    http://www.ccranmore.wordpress.com

  14. My favorite is about deepening the mystery. Love it! Congrats on being freshly pressed.

  15. Jen Trulson says:

    I’m a quote-a-holic and I just got my fix. Designer, artists, creatives – amaze me. My favorite? Design must seduce, shape, and more importantly, evoke and emotional response.

    Thanks!

  16. Zoe says:

    -The Best Forms of Art from a Broken Heart-
    officially my favourite quote ever!<3

  17. Fantastic choices here. All are thought-provoking and true.

    Congrats on Freshly Pressed!

  18. carpelife says:

    Great Sentences from Great People =O)

  19. hnzosan030 says:

    graphic design amounts to distraction at best
    and manipulation at worst.
    The whole “motivation” movement is a pathetic and shallow ruse.

  20. barb7802 says:

    My favorite: design is intelligence made visible. Love it! I did not know that one. These were just a joy! Thank you so much. My quote list will become much longer. Made my day.

    Barbara

    http://cafetodaymyblog.wordpress.com/

  21. Anthony Tham says:

    Awesome work! Love this post 🙂

  22. Alabi Adegoke says:

    beautiful.to say the least

  23. Don Draper said it best ‘ We’re creative. The least important, most important thing there is.” Loved this post, thanks for sharing.

  24. rubiescorner says:

    This is both amusing, and inspiring. I love design and art.

  25. restmymind says:

    waauw! inspirational, I have to say…
    nice list of quotes!
    and respect for all the designers out there 😉

  26. ovitrif says:

    awesome, thanks for sharing 🙂

  27. Sunflowerdiva says:

    Hahahaha–“Good design is all about making other designers feel like idiots because that idea wasn’t theirs.” That one just cracked me up!

  28. Evie Garone says:

    Loved, Loved! I especially loved the shoot in the face one!! Ha, ha!

    evelyngarone.com

  29. Cool quotes hope you get lot’s of votes!

  30. These are great! You have put a lot of time in presenting them. Your effort was noted and appreciated!

  31. zookyshirts says:

    Nice roundup of quotes about art, design, and creativity — and I like how the quotes have been designed, too, not just repeated in text. The one from Da Vinci really hits home for me — I really like the thought behind that one. Thanks for collecting all of these!

  32. Great stuff! Thanks for posting!

  33. Pingback: 20 Imagens Inspiradoras de Frases Famosas (via Off Stony Point) « Miss Impossible

  34. Monica says:

    love these!!! Thanks for sharing them 🙂

  35. Nice compilation here. I love most of the designs, and not to mention, also the quotes. My favorite is the one that says : “Design is intelligence made visible”. Thanks for sharing!

  36. arisawake says:

    brilliant post! thanks for sharing ❤

  37. sayitinasong says:

    These are great! I have another one for you: Do what you believe, otherwise you end up believeing in what you do.

  38. So inspiring! I hearted all your images! (weheartit.com)

  39. Matamala Design says:

    Inspired…
    On a Saturday morning.
    Really good stuff.

  40. Annu says:

    berry berry good. 🙂

  41. Love the post! I need some of those on tshirts..lol

  42. Cool design quotes!! Esp the one on creativity.

  43. Beautiful. I wish wish wish I could design images like these.
    My favorite (both quote and design) has got to be the last
    one – The Difference between Art and Design.

    Thanks for posting.
    Colin.

  44. click says:

    The look for your blog is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your site. I might have to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

